Eclipse

My pain kept you warm in the winter
I would wrap you in my arms
Sitting underneath a broken heater
Trying to comfort you into loving me
Enough to remind me to love myself
But I never knew what made people worth loving
I was just grateful to be there
That someone could still find beauty
In the dilapidated dollhouse
Of a little girl

 with a penchant for her own darkness

Sometimes I hated you
For pretending to love
What you can’t even see
All that I am
Is an eclipse
Posing as the sun
With a garden in one hand
And your heart in the other

Desperately denying
everything you plant
Is likely to die in our soil

Leave a Reply

